mandystreats

A cooking/baking/life blog ..

Welcome to Mandy’s Treats

on April 5, 2012

Today is the debut of my food blog and I couldn’t be more excited!!
I love sharing & trying new recipes.. and I love cooking for my family.
After the kids are in bed and I am ready to wind down..what do I do with my time – yes you guessed it read food blogs so it was time to begin my own.
Last night I made the tastiest Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.. even my 5-year-old son who normally does not like oatmeal cookies told me I was the best cook ever! CAN’T ASK FOR MORE THAN THAT!!!!!!!

Recipe:

  • 2/3 cup butter – softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar  (love love love brown sugar in these)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsps vanilla
  • 1 + 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt1 + 1/4 (or 1 cup) chocolate chips

Method:

  • Beat softened butter and sugar until creamy & then beat in the egg and add vanilla.
  • In a separate bowl mix the flour, baking power, baking soda, and salt together.  Once they are mixed up well – add the quick cooking oats.
  • Add you oat mixture to the butter mixture – mixing until no streaks remain and then stir in the chips.

Bake @ 325 for 10 – 12 minutes – just until very lightly brown on the outside.. YUMMMO !

I hope you like them 🙂

OATMEAL CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2 responses to “Welcome to Mandy’s Treats

  1. Rowena says:

    I taste tested these cookies tonight and they were yummy !! Lots of chocolate chips in them- I could eat several at one time for sure.

Please leave me a Reply :)

